X-Wing Regional at Atomic Games Manitowoc, WI – 06/08/2013 – By Ryan “Picasso”Krippendorf


First off, great event, had a great time and the competition was crazy good.

Here is what I flew and an account of my games.

Total Squad Points: 100
Pilot: Rookie Pilot 1
X-Wing (21)
Upgrades:
No upgrades Selected
Pilot: Rookie Pilot 2
X-Wing (21)
Upgrades:
No upgrades Selected
Pilot: Han Solo
YT-1300 (46)
Upgrades:
Marksmanship (3)
Chewbacca (4)
Gunner (5)

Yes I flew my “Han Shot First” list.  I decided to fly it because I honestly wanted to fly a list I have fun flying.  No other reason.  I’ve been flying several other lists and I honestly am not having as much fun as when I first started playing the game.

My first match was a rematch from the Janesville Regional where I played against Tom in the first round.  Tom flew,
Total Squad Points: 100
Pilot: “Howlrunner”
Tie Fighter (18)
Upgrades:
Swarm Tactics (2)
Pilot: Avenger Squadron Pilot 1
Tie Interceptor (20)
Upgrades:
No Upgrades Selected
Pilot: Avenger Squadron Pilot 2
Tie Interceptor (20)
Upgrades:
No Upgrades Selected
Pilot: Avenger Squadron Pilot 3
Tie Interceptor (20)
Upgrades:
No Upgrades Selected
Pilot: Avenger Squadron Pilot 4
Tie Interceptor (20)
Upgrades:
No Upgrades Selected
Not Wanting to have Han face four Squints in the first round of shooting I set up so that I could use the X-wings as bait and pick off the TIEs with Han one at a time.  The X-wings were able to bait three of the squints and put a little damage down as they went.  This allowed Han to do what he does best and start one shooting Ties.  In the end Tom had three squints coming after a near clean Han.  The game change came when Tom chose to not take a critical hit and spend a token allowing my gunner to put a squint down.  Two more one shots and the game was over.  Tough match as all of my games against Tom are.
1-0

Second round I flew against Jake flying three Firesprays.  Jake is in the local gaming group in Milwaukee and I knew this would be a tough game.  Jake was a top eight at Star Wars weekend and the Regional Winner from Janesville.
I used my rookies to again bait the Firesprays.  I spread all three of my ships out with one X-wing in the middle and leaving space between the other ships placing them towards the right side of the board edge.  There was a nice line of asteroids for me to fly Han along and pick up an extra evade.  Jake set up two Firesprays in the opposite corner of Han and the third in the middle of the board.   I was able to single out the lone fire spray and focus fire on it.  This was HUGE in the game because I knew a direct assault on those things is a suicide march for my X-wings.  The X-wings also served as speed bumps to stop the Firesprays from taking actions.  In the end Han’s ability combined with “Marksmanship” allowed me to stack crits on the Firesprays and sneak out a win.
2-0

Round three I flew against Chris.  I’ve never played against him or seen him fly so I was curious as to how this game would go.  He was flying…….. WAIT FOR IT…….. THREE FIRESPRAYS!  I joked that Jabba put a bounty on my head so large that every bounty hunter in the tournament was after me.  He set up in a much tighter formation than Jake did so I knew I wouldn’t be able to single one bounty hunter out first.  I again used the bait and bump tactic that I used against Jake.  His dice were hot and mine were average in the beginning of the game.  In the end my ability to put critical hits down and stack them up on the bounty hunters won me the game.  I was able to do damage with the X-wings and trade them out with the Firesprays.  In the end I finished the game with only five hits left on Han.  Chewie saved me from a pilot skill zero crit and my gunner saved me from a not being able to roll dice on my next attack.  Allowing the gunner to shoot and win the game.
3-0

Semifinals
I played against Jason who was two and one with a loss to Jake earlier in the event.  Jason knocked Mike, from my local gaming group out of the semis by ending his perfect record with a loss in the third round.  I knew this would not be an easy game.  He flew,
Total Squad Points: 99
Pilot: Red Squadron Pilot 1
X-Wing (23)
Upgrades:
No upgrades Selected
Pilot: Red Squadron Pilot 2
X-Wing (23)
Upgrades:
No upgrades Selected
Pilot: Han Solo
YT-1300 (46)
Upgrades:
Marksmanship (3)
Chewbacca (4)

My first thought was “OH GREAT!  Those Reds shoot before my rookies!”  Then I thought “OH GREAT!  Those rookies move and take actions before his Reds!”  I decided to use that to my advantage in the game.  I then realized that he came in at 99 points and he would shoot before my Han.  UGH!  This deal was getting wore all the time.  Jason also had to place his Han before my Han at least I could set up in the opposite corner that he did was my small consolation.  “Well here goes nothing.”  I set one rookie close to the center of the play area.  I decided to use him as bait.  Poor guy.  I placed my other rookie on the right side of the table edge.  Jason placed his two X-wings in the middle of the board at about range two of each other.  He placed his Han facing toward the center of the board and on my left side of the board.  I placed my Han in between my two rookies and closer to the rookie on my right side of the table.  I decided to putt my rookie in the middle of the board one forward for as long as possible while Han and the other rookie swung around behind Jason’s two X-wings.  There was a line of asteroids on my right side so Han could use them as cover and pick up an extra evade if he needed to.  Jason didn’t entirely take the bait.  He maneuvered his X-wings so the would be out of Han’s 360 and still be advancing on my lone Rookie.  His Han was also making a straight shot rapidly towards the center of the play area.  There was no shooting in the first round.  In the second movement phase I cut Han between two asteroids so he could get some shots off and continued to putt the rookie along.  My second rookie continued his swing around the backside of the two red pilots.  Some fire was exchanged but only shields were lost.  I committed my self to that if I get both of the reds and still have a rookie left but no shields on Han I could make up the shields on his Han by bumping his Han with my Han. ???????  Does that make sense or just sound odd?  Any way this gamble paid off huge over the next three rounds, as Jason ended up landing one of the red pilots on an asteroid and my rookie that I used to swing around the back of the Reds’ had a target lock from the round before and was able to target lock and focus the red pilot for four hits.  The Hans each shot down an X-wing and in the following round my Han lost it’s last shield but my Han shot down his last Red pilot and I had an untouched rookie.  Having the two attacks paid off so much as I was able to take out Jason’s shields and have him use his Chewie before I had to use mine.  I was able to use my Han as a roadblock for two turns as the rookie shot Jason’s ship at will.  Once Jason got passed my Han we both had damage on our Falcons and my X-wing had one hit left.  Our Hans chased each other through the asteroids blasting each other the entire way.  My rookie had two critical hits on him, which was keeping him out of the fight.  In the second to last turn we both landed crits, I received a “Structural Damage” reduce agility by one, Jason got a “Blinded Pilot.”  He couldn’t shoot in the next round because he had already shot in the round in which he received the crit and he didn’t have the gunner!  In the last round I brought both of my ships into a position where they could shoot Jason’s last ship.  I rolled three hits with my Han and ended the game.  Closest and best game I’ve played in a long time.
4-0
Finals Picasso vs. Jake
Jake was coming off a three Firespray vs three Firespray that came down to one hit and was a long game.  To put this in perspective the event started a little after one and we were now past eight o’clock at night.  We took a break and then decided to get this going.  For the third time at the event I was playing against three Firesprays.  I learned at Star Wars weekend that the three Firespray list had a 50% win/loss rate in play testing.  The three Firesprays were up for a win.  I set up exactly the same as I did the first time I played against Jake.  The asteroids were slightly different but I still had a line of space rocks down the center of the table.  Jake set up all three Firesprays with their sides facing me, and their front facing his opposite corner.  He called it the “Firespray Shuffle.”  This could prove to be a problem for me if a make a maneuvering mistake as he could easily focus fire front and rear arcs.  I maneuvered my X-wings to try and chase the “Firespray Train” and shoot down the rear most one first.  Jake decided to attack Han first and get some payback from the game before.  In the end Han’s ability combined with “Marksmanship” allowed for me to once again stack crit after crit on the Bounty Hunters and win the game.
5-0

This was the hardest event to win that I’ve ever played in.  Huge thanks to Atomic Games in Manitowoc, WI and to everyone who played and had a great time

Battle Report by Ryan “Picasso” Krippendorf.

One comment on “X-Wing Regional at Atomic Games Manitowoc, WI – 06/08/2013 – By Ryan “Picasso”Krippendorf

Leave a Reply

